Témoignage “Radiculopathy”

First and foremost, I want to publicly acknowledge my thanks to Dr. Sylvie Delanian.  Through her extreme competence, her ability to listen, and her humanity, she is a role model and I can really say that she saved me.

Born in 1957, I presented a pure seminoma in 1996, at the age of 39, which was treated and cured by local surgery followed by “intense” radiotherapy on the abdomen and then the thorax.  In 2012, 16 years later, I suffered a sudden and rapid loss of strength in my legs.  In retrospect, I had a tendency for 2-3 years to twist my ankle, etc.

After many examinations and hypotheses spread out over long months, the diagnosis was finally made and confirmed by Dr. Delanian (for the record I’m a researcher and I found her scientific articles on the subject).  I was convinced to take a PENTOCLO antifibrosant treatment that started in 2012 and is still in progress in 2019. This treatment allowed me to stop the process of degeneration (nerves and fibrosis) of my lumbar plexus (radiculopathy) by  a slight improvement of the neurological situation then a stabilization … Since then, I am autonomous, I can move with feet almost normally, but with a persistent weakness in the legs especially when lifting the feet (beware of the carpets!).  Finished tennis, etc., but I live almost normally.

It must be said that this situation was not easy to accept and there followed a slight depression (this was new to me) at the end of 2012 because of anxiety about the rest (I already saw myself in a wheelchair, and with professional and family consequences).  I met a Buddhist psychiatrist (Zen) and these circumstances caused deep soul searching and gradually led to a clarification of many things.  I continue to practice Zen meditation since then with my wife; I did not need antidepressants.

For the record, the psychiatrist I consulted during my depressive reaction had prescribed an antidepressant.  Which I did not take, because of my resistance to the idea, and the meditation helped me to get through it.  I spoke to Dr. Delanian who offered me a drug from the IRS family Venlafaxine 37.5 every morning.  This is the smallest dose to limit the energy losses of the class of anti-depressants but at a dose 10 times lower … which convinced me.  The goal is to better recycle serotonin (by inhibiting its recapture) and so help (analog of a small crutch, according to Dr. Delanian) one of the neurotransmitters control (my legs in this case) … allowing W to avoid exhaustion.  As for this medicine, in the end I think we should not hesitate, because it allowed me to get through a tough situation and break out of a vicious circle.

Finally, I also practiced (and practice still irregularly) meditation, the idea is not a miracle drug that makes the pain disappear, but a help to give perspective by looking at the situation with a soothing effect (calm mind and body).  There are many related practices (sophrology, mindfulness, etc.) depending on the objective (meditation paradoxically not having an objective, it is precisely the way not to focus on a desired result!).

Courage, sharing, hope and compassion. Jean-Pierre

Témoignage « Radiculopathie »

www.arser.org

Avant toute chose, je souhaite afficher publiquement mes remerciements au Dr Sylvie Delanian. Par son extrême compétence, son écoute, son humanité, elle est un exemple et je peux vraiment dire qu’elle m’a sauvé.

Né en 1957, j’ai présenté un séminome pur en 1996, à l’âge de 39 ans, qui a été traité et guéri par chirurgie locale puis radiothérapie « intense » sur l’abdomen puis le thorax. En 2012, 16 ans après, j’ai souffert d’une brutale et rapide perte de force dans les jambes. Rétrospectivement, j’avais tendance depuis 2-3 ans à me tordre la cheville, etc.

Après de nombreux examens et hypothèses écartées de longs mois, le diagnostic a enfin été posé, puis confirmé par le Dr Delanian (pour la petite histoire je suis chercheur et j’ai trouvé ses articles scientifiques sur le sujet). J’ai été convaincu de prendre un traitement antifibrosant PENTOCLO qui a démarré en 2012 et qui est toujours en cours en 2019. Ce traitement a permis chez moi de stopper le processus de dégénérescence (nerfs et fibrose) de mon plexus lombaire (radiculopathie) par une légère amélioration de la situation neurologique puis une stabilisation… Depuis lors, je suis autonome, je peux me déplacer à pieds quasi normalement, mais avec une faiblesse persistante des jambes surtout des releveurs de pieds (attention aux tapis !). Terminé le tennis, etc., mais je vis quasi normalement.

Il faut dire quand même que cette situation n’a pas été facile à admettre et s’en est suivie une légère dépression (cela était nouveau pour moi) fin 2012 du fait de l’angoisse sur la suite (je me voyais déjà en chaise roulante, et avec des conséquences professionnelles et familiales). J’ai rencontré un psychiatre bouddhiste (zen) et ces circonstances ont provoqué une remise en question profonde et progressivement à une clarification de beaucoup de choses. Je continue depuis à pratiquer la méditation zen avec mon épouse ; je n’ai pas eu besoin d’antidépresseurs.

Pour la petite histoire le psychiatre que j’avais consulté lors de ma réaction dépressive m’avait prescrit un antidépresseur. Ce que je n’ai pas fait, par résistance à l’idée, et la méditation m’a aidé à passer le cap. J’en ai parlé au Dr Delanian qui m’a proposé un médicament de la famille des IRS la Venlafaxine 37.5 chaque matin. Il s’agit de la plus petite dose pour limiter les pertes d’énergie de la classe des anti-dépresseurs mais à la dose 10 fois plus faible… ce qui m’a convaincu. L’objectif est de mieux recycler la sérotonine (en inhibant sa recapture) et ainsi d’aider (analogue d’une petite béquille, dixit le Dr Delanian) un des neurotransmetteurs de contrôle (de mes jambes en l’occurrence)… mettant l’épuisement à distance. À propos de ce médicament, au final je pense qu’il ne faut pas hésiter, car il m’a permis de passer un cap et de casser le cercle vicieux dans lequel je me trouvais.

Enfin, j’ai aussi pratiqué (et pratique encore irrégulièrement) la méditation, l’idée n’est pas un médicament miracle qui fait disparaître les douleurs, mais une aide afin de relativiser en regardant la situation en face avec un effet apaisant (calme l’esprit et le corps). Il existe beaucoup de pratiques apparentées (sophrologie, pleine conscience, etc.) suivant l’objectif (la méditation paradoxalement n’en ayant pas, c’est justement le moyen de ne pas s’attacher à un résultat espéré !).

Courage, partage, espoir et compassion. Jean-Pierre